The Game Of Your Life 1.1 Released

18 June 2015

The Game Of Your Life 1.1 Released

Hi All,

I've released a new update of your favourite productivity game, The Game Of Your Life. The new version adds the concepts of buckets and motives. Buckets allow you to categorise and prioritise your challenges and motives help you organise your quests and understand yourself.

The standard set of buckets for your challenges are:

  • Frogs - Eat your frogs first and nothing bad will happen to you for the rest of the day. This bucket is for challenges that taste bad. Do them first, even before you check your Facebook.
  • Grease - The Grease Bucket is for challenges that prevent your life from falling apart. E.g. exercise, cleaning, and paying the bills.
  • Service - No man is an island. We all have obligations to our fellow humans and this bucket is where you put them.
  • Training - This bucket is for challenges that you have to do over and over again to reach your goal. E.g. practising foreign languages, improving your fitness or practising a musical instrument.
  • Broken - If you're building new bridges when the old ones are falling apart you are heading for a personal apocalypse. Use this bucket for your fix-it challenges.
  • Upgrades - Improvements on the life you've built can go a long way and often come quite cheap. Put them in here.
  • Expansion - Additions to your life go here. You don't want to start these until your previous buckets are empty.
  • Indulgence - Congratulations, you made it to the end of the day. Treat yourself.

Quest Motives allow you to color code and categorise your quests and will also be used for statistics and social networking in future versions.

The motives come from the 16 Fundamental Human Desires as discovered by psychologist Steven Reiss. They are:

  • Acceptance - The desire to be included.
  • Curiosity - The desire to explore or learn.
  • Eating - The desire for food.
  • Family - The desire to raise one's own children. Does not include raising other people's children.
  • Honor - The desire to be loyal to one's parents, ethnic group or nation.
  • Idealism - The desire to improve society.
  • Independence - The desire for self-reliance.
  • Order - The desire for a predictable environment, including the desire for cleanliness and ritual.
  • Physical Activity - The desire to move one's muscles.
  • Power - The desire for influence, including mastery and leadership.
  • Romance - The desire for sex and beauty.
  • Saving - The desire to collect.
  • Social Contact - The desire for interaction with other people, including the desire for fun.
  • Status - The desire for social standing, including the desire for attention.
  • Tranquility - The desire to be free from anxiety, fear or pain.
  • Vengeance - The desire to get even with others, including the joy of competition.

Because of these changes, the new version is not compatible with the old version. You can install the new version and run both or just use the old version which will never be updated. If enough people hassle me I'll add an import feature to get your data from the old app into the new one.

Install the new version of The Game Of Your Life.

Peace out,

Yogi G.

No comments yet, be the first to comment!


Follow Us

Join the Mailing List

Subscribe to our mailing list for the latest news and announcements.

Join the Mailing List

Subscribe to our mailing list for the latest news and announcements.

    Latest Poll

    Which name is better?
    The Game Of Your Life
    The Productivity Game